Leading a team of over 100 highly skilled professionals, Mutual Trust’s corporate structure is defined by three key levels of oversight. The Board led by Chairman Gordon Dickinson, the Executive Team led by CEO Phil Harkness, and the Investment Committee chaired by Gordon Dickinson.

Board of Directors

The experience of the Mutual Trust Board of Non-Executive Directors is extensive and diverse, encompassing stockbroking, investment management, investment banking, tax and accounting, rural operations, legal practice, property interests, business management and philanthropy.

View The Directors

Gordon Dickinson


Gordon is also a director of Rubicon Systems, operating globally in the irrigation industry, and a number of other commercial and not for profit organisations. He was the former Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Australian and New Zealand operations of UBS, a global investment bank, and has significant investment and rural interests. Gordon has over 30 years experience in the Investment Industry. Gordon is also the Chairman of the Investment Committee of the Board of Mutual Trust (“Investment Committee”).

Marshall E Baillieu

Non-Executive Director

Marshall is Co-Head of Rothschild in Australia. He specialises in corporate finance advisory and mergers and acquisition within the mining and oil and gas sectors, with over 19 years of investment banking experience with the Rothschild group. Prior to joining Rothschild, he worked for the Rio Tinto group as a mechanical engineer. Marshall chairs the Remuneration Committee of the board of Mutual Trust (“Mutual Trust”).

Catherine Leahy

Non-Executive Director

Catherine is a Chartered Accountant. Prior to joining Mutual Trust, she was a partner at KPMG where she gained broad experience over a 25 year period in the advisory, transaction services, insolvency and audit areas. She also recently held the position of Development Director for Rhodes Scholarships in Australia. Catherine is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee of the Board of Mutual Trust.

Charles Baillieu

Non-Executive Director

Charles is also the Chairman of boutique fund manager Copia Investment Partners and is a Director of a number of other commercial organisations. He was director of institutional equities at Deutsche Bank, prior to which he was an Executive Director and head of the institutional equities business at E L & C Baillieu. He has significant property, investment and rural interests. He has 35 years experience in the investment industry. Charles is a member of the Investment Committee.

John McInnes OAM

Non-Executive Director

John is a Chartered Accountant and also a Director of a number of commercial non-listed companies including Southern Cross Station Pty Ltd and Castlegate James Australasia Pty Ltd. He has previously been Deputy Chairman of Pacific Hydro Ltd and Chairman of Futuris Ltd. He was the founding partner of the Chartered Accounting firm of McInnes Graham & Gibbs, which in 2006 merged with Mutual Trust. John has over 40 years experience in the accounting profession and is a consultant to Mutual Trust. John is Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Peter Michell

Non-Executive Director

Peter Michell is a Director at Michell Wool P/L and was its Managing Director for the decade following 2004. Peter is a non-executive Director of Duxton Water, holds a BA (Man) from UniSA, is a fellow of the AICD (FAICD), a fellow of the Governors Leadership Foundation of SA (FGLF2000) and sits on the University of Adelaide’s Agribusiness Advisory Board. In 2004, Peter and his brother consolidated shareholding in their 140 year old family agribusiness from 40 shareholders to two and oversaw its regrowth including a greenfield wool textile facility in China and the purchase and development of two industrial wool textile businesses in Malaysia. His 30 years in the wool, wool textile and leather industry has seen Peter responsible for commodity trading, trade finance, global B2B industrial supply, industrial production, investment, strategy and leadership. Peter is a member of the Investment Committee of the Board of Mutual Trust.